Barry M. Willoughby

p 302.571.6666
f 302.576.3345

Barry is Chair of the Labor and Employment Law Section of Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP. He also serves as a member of the firm's Management Committee. His practice focuses on the representation of employers in claims of employment discrimination, retaliation, "whistleblower," and other "wrongful discharge" cases under federal and state law, including defense of charges of racial and sexual harassment. Barry also defends public employers in First Amendment, due process, equal protection, and other constitutional law allegations. He represents employers in union related conflicts, including representation in organizing campaigns, unfair labor practice proceedings, and grievance/arbitration hearings.


  • Martindale-Hubbell, AV Preeminent®, 2016
  • Chambers USA - America's Leading Lawyers for Business, Labor and Employment, 2006-Present
  • The Best Lawyers in America®, 2016 Delaware Labor and Employment Litigation Lawyer, 2014 Delaware Labor Law Management Lawyer of the Year and 2013 Delaware Management Employment Lawyer of the Year 
  • 2013 Lawyer of the Year, Management Labor Law 
  • Delaware Super Lawyers®, Employment & Labor, 2007 - Present
  • Who's Who Legal USA, Management Labour & Employment, 2006



Memberships and Affiliations

  • Delaware State Bar Association, Employment Law Section, Former Chair; Labor Law Committee, Former Chair; Member
  • American Bar Association, Member
  • College of Labor & Employment Lawyers, Fellow
  • Society for Human Resources Managers (SHRM), Associated Member
  • Delaware Council of School Board Attorneys
  • Colonial Education Foundation, Board Member
  • Defense Research Institute, an organization representing the interests of defendants in litigation matters
  • United Way of Delaware, Inc., Pro Bono General Counsel; Chair - Statewide fundraising for the Attorneys Division; Ex-Officio Board Member
  • Junior Achievement of Delaware, Inc., Pro Bono General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
  • Wilmington Manor Volunteer Fire Company, Honorary Member